Criminal Law – Sex Crimes
On behalf of Randall & Stump, PLLC in Child Sex Crimes, Criminal Defense, Rape, Sex Crimes on Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Under North Carolina Criminal Law, Sex Crimes carry significant penalties and collateral consequences. Being charged with a sex related crime can make a person and their family feel isolated, ostracized and vilified.
The range of charges for sex crimes under North Carolina Criminal Law goes from Misdemeanor Sexual Battery to First Degree Rape. The penalties for sex crimes are often lengthy prison sentences followed by sex offender registration. A first-degree rape in North Carolina carries a presumptive prison sentence of 192 months minimum to 291 months maximum.
There are a number of Sex Crimes that come down to he said/she said. Frequently law enforcement officers will try to get a statement from a suspect and/or offer them the opportunity to “set the record straight.” In an earlier post we talk about what to do when the police want to talk to you. Please speak with an attorney prior to making any statements to law enforcement.
If you are under investigation for a Sex Crime, you should have an attorney. There are times when an attorney can prevent criminal charges from being filed. If charges cannot be avoided an attorney can arrange for you to surrender to the authorities to avoid having Law enforcement officers coming to your home or work to arrest you. Once you have been charged there are a number of things that can be done to fight your charges. Remember that you are innocent until proven guilty.