Calculating the Real Cost of a Charlotte DUI
Being convicted of a DUI (driving under the influence) can leave you paying long-lasting costs. There will be fines if you’re convicted of a driving while intoxicated (DWI) offense. There are also other costs associated with the charge itself. From lost income to an increase in your insurance costs, there is a long list of expenses associated with being found guilty of a DUI offense.
A DUI lawyer will be able to fully explain the consequences of a DWI conviction, as well as the best ways to fight the case, in an effort to potentially avoid a conviction. If you’re facing accusations of impaired driving in the Charlotte area, contact Randall & Stump, Criminal Defense Attorneys today. An attorney from our firm will examine all of the facts of your case and the options available to fight the charges.
North Carolina DWI Fines
The first cost you’ll have to face after a driving while intoxicated is a fine. North Carolina classifies intoxicated driving charges based on the severity of the offense. Level five, the lowest level, carries a maximum fine of $200. The most serious DUI offense is an aggravated level 1 DWI. For such a crime, you could face fines of up to $10,000.
Administrative Penalties and Corresponding Costs
In addition to a fine, you may face administrative penalties for being pulled over for driving while impaired. In North Carolina, these penalties most often take the form of having your license revoked. As a result of being arrested for DWI in North Carolina, you face a 30-day civil revocation of your driving privileges. In some cases, you may be eligible for a limited driving privilege for the final days of your civil revocation, which requires a fee to be paid. At the conclusion of the civil revocation, you will then owe another fee to be paid for your physical license to be returned, pending the outcome of your case.
How Does Losing Your License Affect Monetary Costs?
Having your license revoked can significantly increase your day-to-day expenses. Without a vehicle, you may be forced to take public transportation or Uber to work. This daily cost will add up. Public transportation is not an option for everyone. You may end up losing money if you’re not able to make it to work. These lost wages will also add to the cost of your DWI. Contact a DUI lawyer today if you’re concerned about maintaining employment after a conviction.
A DWI May Lead to a Substance Abuse Treatment
Depending on the outcome of your case, you may be ordered to attend a counseling program. Various substance abuse programs in North Carolina educate and assess offenders. The costs for substance abuse programs vary depending on the number of recommended treatment hours, but the cost is generally quite high.
What About My Insurance Costs?
A DWI conviction will cause you to be classified as “high-risk” by many insurance providers. This can result in your insurance costs increasing significantly, in most cases a 300% increase from your current premium rate. In general, a DWI can continue to affect your insurance rates for several years beyond your conviction.
Call a DUI Lawyer From Our Firm for Help
The costs of a DWI can be even more extensive than you imagine. With the right knowledge of the law, it may be possible to avoid these costs by fighting your case. For assistance avoiding the long-term consequences of a DWI, talk to an attorney as soon as possible. If you’re facing a DWI charge in the Charlotte area, contact Randall & Stump, Criminal Defense Attorneys.
Schedule a free, initial evaluation of your case online, or by calling (980) 237-4579.