In This Section

Prior DWI Convictions? The Stakes Are Even Higher.

The consequences of a driving while impaired (DWI, DUI, drunk driving) conviction in North Carolina can be life-changing. If convicted of DWI, you will face steep fines, driver's license suspension and increased insurance rates. You could be sentenced to probation or jail time. You could also lose your job or have difficulty finding a job in the future.

You may be in more trouble than you think. Call us to discuss your case and get the help you need. Call 704-286-6942 or toll free at 800-565-1435.

If you have prior DWI convictions on your record, the consequences you face are even more severe. You could face a lengthy prison sentence and permanent driver's license revocation, among other penalties.

We Will Explore Every Defense Available In Your Case

When you face such life-changing consequences, it is important that you hire an experienced North Carolina DWI defense attorney. Due to the complexity of DWI defense in North Carolina, your attorney should explore and exhaust every defense available in your case, including:

  • The legality of the traffic stop
  • Whether there was probable cause to arrest
  • The period of time you were detained in jail
  • How the breath test machine was maintained and operated
  • Whether the arresting officer was certified to use the breath test machine
  • The procedures that were used to draw your blood

It is important that you don't lose hope simply because you were charged; rather, you should put yourself in the best position by hiring an experienced DWI defense lawyer with Randall & Stump, PLLC, who will fight to defend your rights.

What You Face After Being Charged With A Repeat DWI

If you or a loved one has been arrested for a second or third DWI offense in North Carolina, the stakes and punishment are automatically raised. If convicted of your current offense, prior DWI convictions will have a serious impact on your sentencing because each prior offense counts as an aggravating factor in the current case.

For example, if your prior DWI conviction was within seven years of your current offense, you will, at a minimum, be sentenced at Level 1 punishment (see our DWI Sentencing Chart for details). If your prior DWI conviction was outside of seven years, it will be counted as an aggravating factor at sentencing, which can be counterbalanced by mitigating factors present in the case. However, this only applies to Level 3, 4 or 5 punishments.

The most severe consequence would be triggered under Laura's Law, which created the Aggravated Level 1 punishment. If there are three or more aggravating factors present in your case, the Aggravated Level 1 punishment comes into play.

Under the Aggravated Level 1 punishment, you would be sentenced to 12 months to 36 months in jail and face steep fines up to $10,000, among other penalties. It is possible to minimize the punishment, though certain facts must exist to allow an alternative sentence from what is mandated under the statute.

Contact An Experienced DWI Defense Attorney

If you face a second or third offense for driving while impaired in North Carolina, we are here to provide you with the skilled defense representation you need. Contact us today online or by telephone at 704-286-6942 or toll free at 800-565-1435 to set up a free initial consultation.